BEATS, Bristol Eats

Last Thursday I found myself near my home town of Bristol and whilst debating with myself whether to make a diversion to BEATS on the way home to Southsea, my brain made a subconscious decision by making me miss my motorway junction so I  HAD to go! Thank you Brain, I owe you one!!

IMG_2624

BEATS is a street food collective much like Streetfeast in London, where a number of local vendors pitch up in the yard of the Lakota nightclub in Stokes Croft, Bristol. When I got there in the early evening the sun was shining, music was playing and Bristolians in the know were already tucking right in with cans of beer from the offie just around the corner.

IMG_2620

This evening I had to choose from delicious offerings from Bagel Boy, Viet Vite, Kebab Revolution and Pizza Monkey as well as a couple more equally tempting choices, all at around the £5-6 mark. However after a quick look around I went to Kebab Revolution. Choosing what to eat from there was not too difficult as there was only one option!

IMG_2617

The pork on the spit has actual, distinguishable pieces of meat rather than amalgamated elephant leg looking meat found in your average kebaberie and the flatbread was cooked fresh (which lead to a slightly longer waiting time). But eventually I swapped over a nice crisp fiver for this.

IMG_2618

The pork was tender and the oriental inspired extras and flavours were fresh and vibrant. Oh, I don’t know if I mentioned but this was ONLY £5!!! Probably the same price as a less carefully sourced product if not less! A couple of ladies I shared a table with were similarly effusive and was according to one of them “the best kebab I’ve ever had!”.

As I had made a special detour I couldn’t go without taking something home so I headed over to the Bagel Boy caravan to grab something to munch on later.

IMG_2622

IMG_2623

I ordered a Mutton Dressed as Boy and whilst waiting got chatting to the friendly lads about how they started and their passion for their product and good value street food was infectious. As soon as my bagel was done, they packed it up and off home I went.

IMG_2625

As soon as I got home I unwrapped my huge bagel; the lamb was tender and lamby (?) and the chilli slaw had a great kick to it. It didn’t last long….

If I lived in Bristol I would be here EVERY week to support these local traders and to sample outstanding food for rock bottom prices. I was slightly surprised there were not more people here!

So if you live in Bristol, or visiting on a Thursday, check these guys out for great food over the summer. Grab your shades and some mates and enjoy it while you can!

IMG_2621

2 thoughts on “BEATS, Bristol Eats

Leave a Reply

