Chilli Standoff 2012

This weekend I went to the 2nd ever UK Chilli Standoff, this time held in a industrial chic part of Hackney.

The event was organised by the guys at @tweat_up who are the same people who put on Ribstock earlier this year (see my write up here!). I don’t want to bore you guys with too much detail (I could go on for agggeeesssss…) but basically 9 cooks/kitchens were competing to see who could win the hearts (and stomachs) of the judges (us!) to be crowned Chilli Supremo!

Those competing included Lucky Chip, Tom Parker-Bowles, Gizzi Erskine, Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room, Tim Anderson, Dishoom and the infamous Ribman.

All the of the chilli’s were terribly lovely and a world away from the brown sludge reminiscent of school dinners and camping trips in the country. My top three in ascending order were the pots of deliciousness from Gizzi Erskine (looking especially fetching in particularly short denim shorts!). It was the chilli causing a sweat, honest…!

The chilli from Lucky Chip, stirred with a massive bone straight from the Flintstones!

And finally, Will Yates’ chilli complete with clever accompaniments of toasted tortilla, deep fried freeze dried jalopeno, beef jerky and other bits and pieces I can’t quite remember!

Tough choice but my vote went to Lucky Chip who eventually won the Chilli crown with their pot of pure chilli goodness, lovely moist texture with a real depth and slow burning heat. Just another achievement to add to their meatastrophic collection of accolades!

Special mention to Dishoom for their wonderful and generous side to go with their chilli (bit too much curry flavour to be a proper chilli, else they would have got my vote!) and the Ribman. The Ribman’s chilli took a lot of influence from his absolutely LOVERLY rib rolls but it was his Judas hot sauce that affected me to such an extent I got a few worried comments about the amount of sweat the I was producing….. I shan’t post a photo of that as I reached a worrying shade of puce…

We finished off with some goodies from the Meringue Girls and Gelupo Ice Creams (still had a bit of room after all!) and I got to meet top chef Angela Hartnett (executive chef of the Whitechapel Gallery Dining Rooms) and my blogging hero, Rosie of The Londoner! All in all, a fabulous day, and I can’t wait til the next event by @tweatup!! Top event guys!

Now time for a much needed, leisurely stroll to the train home…

6 thoughts on “Chilli Standoff 2012

    • Depends on what you put value to, but for my money, definitely worth £40. 9 truly exceptional chillies and when even the lowest judged chilli was good, the fast fingered also could have got an Early Bird ticket for £35!

  1. SPICE TRIP also competed with our kickass traditional Mexican chilli! stevie parle & emma grazette. spice trip coming up on more4 soon. watch and get the lowdown on mexican use of chilli this sunday. chilli stand off was great fun.

Leave a Reply

